Premio Dardos Award

premio-dardos

I never win anything. Ever. The last time I won something, I got lucky because the person whose number came up had already left – so they moved on to the next number which was mine. Whenever I buy a raffle ticket, it’s always to support the effort because the winning number is always somebody else’s.

So I was surprised to learn that I had been nominated for the Premio Dardos Award by a fellow blogger. It’s even sweeter because she’s Antiguan too and encouragement goes a long way. Joanne Hillhouse is a published author of 5 books, her most recent being Musical Youth. Her first book (correct me if I’m wrong, Joanne), The Boy from Willow Bend was on a summer reading list for my son’s school a few years ago.

In August last year, her book Oh Gad was reviewed by The Antigua and Barbuda Studies Association’s Antigua and Barbuda Review of Books which featured the writings of Antiguan and Barbudan writers at home and abroad. I happened to sing at that event as I helped to demonstrate the points raised by the keynote speaker for his topic on the role of music in the church.

But I digress. The Premio Dardos award is given to bloggers who transmit cultural, ethical, literary and personal values in the form of creative and original writing. Apparently I’m doing some of that here.

I don’t have a list of 15 bloggers completed at this time, so I’ll be updating this post – but here are the first 5 blogs that make my list. I know that some bloggers prefer not to accept awards, but don’t worry – I won’t be offended if you’re one of them.

Allie Potts Writes is one of the first, if not the first follower of my blog. In her posts, she frequently tells a personal story which always has meaning in the end. When you read her posts you will understand why she has authored two books.

Storyshucker does just what he says he’s going to do and he does it well. His stories, usually recollections are heartwarming, poignant and funny. He never posts unless he has something to say.

In Search of His Face is written by a woman accustomed to putting words on a page. Her posts are heartfelt – from the writer’s perspective and the reader’s as well.

Cotton Tree is a mixture of fashion, photography, natural hair care and introspective posts. A teenager working on a degree in humanities, the blogger is a fellow Antiguan.

Bloomingspiders is a beautifully written blog. Hers is one of those blogs where the writer is not afraid to let you see what’s inside. And I mean all of it.

To my readers, I hope you enjoy these blogs as much as I do.

7 thoughts on “Premio Dardos Award

  1. I enjoy reading your blog (the candor and humor and slice-of-life-ness of it) and, as someone who’s come across many things that don’t, I believe it does add value to the internet. My nomination stands 🙂 Thanks for shouting out my books, btw; and, yes, The Boy from Willow Bend was number one.

Now it's your turn

