Long Time No “See”

Angel wings Image credit: deviantart.net
Angel wings
Image credit: deviantart.net

Hands up if you can see dead people.

Or if someone ever “dreamed” you. Not dreamed of you, but – as we say here – dreamed you. Meaning that someone who has passed on pays you a visit in your sleep.

Some people consider it an honour when a deceased loved one pops in to see them. Others are highly offended when a person who they were close to has been gone for a while and hasn’t seen it fit to come back to say “hi”. Me, I’m fine if I never see the person again.

Well that didn’t come out quite right.

My father has been gone for years and while I’ve often thought of him, they’ve clearly been recollections – not revelations. My sister on the other hand has been visited by him a couple of times and the conversation has been decidedly one-way because he was the one who had something to say.

Another family member has been visited in her dreams by both a grandparent and a parent and both times she believes that the stopover was to assure her that they were doing okay. That’s probably because when she saw them in her dreams they were hale and healthy. But why wouldn’t they – be doing well, I mean? They’re out of all this mess aren’t they?

One relative claims to receive some of her visits while she is still awake. Now if I’m going to receive one of those, I’d really prefer to be prone and unconscious during that call, because I’d sure as hell be prone and unconscious after it.

Whenever she receives those visits though, she’s always convinced that the individuals concerned are trying to send her a message – one which, luckily she seems to recognize in time. She has no problem heeding warnings and following instructions from people she used to know but who now reside on the other side of the curtain.

She also happens to see “people” who she never knew when they were here – but who clearly belong over there. However a harsh word and a withering stare are normally enough to send them skating back over.  Apparently her reputation has preceded her. It seems that apparitions are scared of her mouth too.

Not all of us can see them when they come over. It’s said that people with long lashes are good witnesses, but luckily I dodged that bullet because years of wearing glasses have caused mine to curl. But I had to admit  that my ears were working quite well when the floorboards creaked in a house with wooden floors when I could swear I was the only one at home.

When both of my children were babies, something in the ceiling always made them smile and I knew it wasn’t gas. We were living in the house formerly occupied by my husband’s grandmother so I knew who they were looking at. Their proximity then, to that line between life and death was probably what made it easier for them to “see” what I couldn’t.

I’m not sure I’m really looking forward to becoming a vision – but there’s always a bright side. It will probably be my newfound ability to freely eavesdrop on any number of private conversations.

So maybe  it’ll be worth it?

10 thoughts on “Long Time No “See”

  1. I dreamed of my grandmother, who is my namesake as we nearly share a birthday, one evening quite out of the blue. We weren’t close. She lived several states over and we rarely saw each other. I learned she passed away a few days later. So admittedly this story doesn’t exactly count as she was still alive when I last ‘saw’ here, but maybe that was just my grandmother’s way of being an overachiever.

  2. I would love to be able to say that this happens to me, but I have seen no sign of my hubby in the last 11 years. My MIL says that she “dreams” them though. I have had dreams, but they were just dreams – full of my unconscious thoughts, needs and wants. There have been no special signs or reassurance. Bit disappointed actually!
    Your post is timely because I was just thinking about this the other day, and wondering if time is different on the other side, and it’s only been a short while since he got there and so he hasn’t realised he is supposed to come visit. For his sake that better be the reason. 😉

    1. Oh my. You’re one of those who doesn’t take kindly to not being visited I see. Yes, probably time is different over there. I imagine that when you meet up someone will have some ‘splainin’ to do.
      Love your comment!

      1. 🙂 Not sure what to make of it all. Does it really happen, and if it does, why not with me? We will be having words we next we meet, that is for sure! 🙂

  3. My grandfather was a visual artist, and the day after he passed away I was in art class, and we had to draw a small courtyard in the school. I think I can draw pretty well, but that day I managed to draw this old, gnarled tree in the center of the courtyard with better-than-normal accuracy. I like to think that I got some of his artistic abilities after that day.

    Also, after one of my grandmothers died, a bunch had ordered a tray of assorted bagels from our local bakery for lunch at my aunt’s house. Usually you get a mixture: plain, sesame, poppy seed, cinnamon raisin, pumpernickel, etc. Poppy seed and sesame seed are my dad’s favorites, but my grandmother always disliked them because she hated the feeling of seeds stuck in her teeth. When the tray came, my dad asked for a poppy seed or sesame seed bagel. We opened up the tray, and there were no sesame or poppy seed bagels to be found. Ironic!

Now it's your turn

