You Again?

Image credit: travelpod.com
Image credit: travelpod.com

After a particularly frustrating customer service experience last week, my husband remarked that I should probably have been as pleasant as possible to the inept attendant because I might have to deal with her again.

In other words, he hoped I hadn’t burned any bridges.

While I understand his concern, I couldn’t help but feel a little offended. In effect he was asking that I bite my tongue, mash my big toe and smile sweetly while she wasted my time. How about she try being a little better at her job for that time a few months from now when she has to deal with me again?

My mother probably told me, but I’ve lived long enough to realize that it pays to be nice to people because you don’t ever know where you’ll meet them again. I’ve run into people for a second time that I never thought I’d see again – and just like checking my breath and hoping it’s fresh – I quickly search my memory hoping to find that the first encounter was a good one.

But not everyone has the same attitude. Like the good customer service representative who sought to antagonize me further by trying to determine whether the fault was really mine. She was so busy doing that – it didn’t surprise me that the apology completely slipped her mind.

Maybe I’ll get it when she sees me the next time. Because there’s a strong possibility that she’ll see me again.

A former bank teller once told me that there were some people who would give up their rightful place in the line just so that they could be served by her. I don’t know many people who want to prolong the time they have to spend in a queue, but it’s probably because they liked her manner – and she was easy on the eyes.

And since I don't want to do this Image credit: pinimg.com
And since I don’t want to do this…
Image credit: pinimg.com

I think I’ll try that tack the next time I go into this particular establishment. That way others can have the benefit of her superior proficiency and I can conclude my business in reasonable time with someone else.

 

…That’s the only way that I’ll be able to give my husband the promise to be on my best behavior.

 

9 thoughts on “You Again?

      1. It took over an hour, but eventually I finally was able to get through to another human. At least I think it was another human. I might have stopped really caring at that point.

      1. Yes, it’s like they are in their own world and can’t even recognise that they may have done something wrong. That’s when the urge to throw a few choice phrases in their face becomes dangerous. 🙂

  1. OMG, I can’t believe I’ve never read your blog before. What the heck is wrong with me? One of my resolutions for 2015 is to follow and then actually read more bloggers. I REALLY love the REMEMBER sign… Absolute truth! 🙂

Now it's your turn

