Unexpected Consequences

The children are ready to move out. Considering that they’re not even teenagers yet and don’t have any jobs, I’m not really sure how they plan to make it out there on their own. I don’t think they’ve thought it through either, but they’re not really picky about where they go – as long as that place has electricity and wifi.

The storm started on Sunday evening and continued into Monday morning. The forecasters said that it was a tropical storm and so we should expect to experience tropical storm winds up to about 40 or 45 miles per hour. Since we’d been through a category 3 hurricane with wind speeds of 120 mph, I was sure that we’d be going to work as usual the next day.

But let me back up a bit. A visit from my sister-in-law on Sunday told us that we had better stop spending our Sundays listening to music exclusively and find out what’s actually taking place in the world – since she asked us what we were doing about the storm and we asked her “Which one?”

That’s when we decided that we had better start monitoring its progress on the news feeds, but like I said, all indications were that it would become a hurricane after it passed us so we thought it best to start praying for the people who were up ahead.

We notice that the wind is picking up a bit, but we’re not worried – that’s to be expected when there’s a system in the area. And since the reservoirs are still pretty low, we were hoping to get a little rain out of it too.

We retire relatively early and the wind chimes tell me that it’s getting windier. There isn’t much rain yet, but I’m mentally and physically preparing for work the next day because I’m thinking I’ve seen as good as it’s going to get. Hours later, I’m awakened by the chimes working overtime and in what feels like gale force winds, I go onto the gallery to take the noise makers down.

Image credit: disastersafety.org
Image credit: disastersafety.org

While I’m at it, I check the back verandah, take down some high-sitting plants and move other things around and wonder if the forecasters withheld some information – because this was not at all what I was expecting. I go back inside and hope to get some sleep now that that the clanging is gone.

The hoped-for rain doesn’t really come – or at least it comes in short bursts that can’t really do anything for my cistern, but the wind is the loudest thing out there. By this time, my body clock is telling me it’s nearly time to get up, so I do and start the day like any other.

After which the power goes out. This occurrence coupled with a peek outside tells me that it’s really not a day like any other, and I realize that the people who wanted to stay home will probably be getting their wish come true, today.

The rain is attempting to fall, but before it can hit the ground it is swept away by the wind. It doesn’t seem to realize that our water catchments are close to bone dry. It continues pounding for the next four hours and is followed by the inevitable lull, after which we’re told (and we know from personal experience), that the wind will start up again from the opposite direction.

I rush to remove all possible missiles, breakables and don’t-want-to-have-to-buy-you-back-ables from this area, and wait for the wind to start up again. It does, but not with nearly the same intensity and before I know it, it’s all over and the day is still young.

So a drive is in order. To see how our property fared in comparison to others. Broken tree limbs, downed billboards (thank God), some uprooted trees. And as has become customary now, there’s talk about tornadoes touching down in certain areas, because what else can possibly explain why some houses lost roofs in this tropical storm.

Electricity has been restored to some areas, but unfortunately, the good people at the power company haven’t yet gotten to my house. It’s Day 3 WE (without electricity), and the kids are ready to bunk with anybody who can fulfill their needs. Because right now they don’t care about food, they don’t care about shelter, they don’t care about love – they just want some “light” on the subject.

6 thoughts on “Unexpected Consequences

      1. You won’t believe this, but two days ago power was restored to every house on the street – except ours. We weren’t home when it happened but after the neighbour called and told us the good news, we were already planning what we would do first. Nothing happened when we flipped the switches. We’ve called the power company. We’re also trying to look on the bright side… yes, I can almost see it.

Now it's your turn

