You Mean You Couldn’t Tell Me?

Now and again, I’m led to write posts based on suggestions from others or because the experiences of others are just too good not to talk about. This latest one concerns one of the local telecommunication companies that provides us with cell phone coverage.  

As a person who still receives a lot of her calls via a land line, the numerous daily beeps from my mobile (which I normally ignore), usually indicate a message from the said mobile provider informing me that I still have an opportunity to win the newest Samsung model phone if I would just text a series of numbers to another series of numbers.

Or if I really have nothing else to occupy my time I could play a game by texting “Candy” or “Blast” to a certain number and possibly winning a whole bunch of points. And if I’m extra lucky to be a top-ranked player I could very well be walking away with a wad of cash. If I decided however that I’m not one of those people with a couple of dollars to waste on multiple texts, there are some days, that I can – with a single text – actually triple my chances or double my odds of winning a 40” LED TV.

Some time ago, when the company had a promotion that would see a customer winning a trip, some subscribers would get announcements informing them that they were the proud owners of an “E” or a “Y” and that they were well on their way to spelling out the winning location. I was about to suggest that they complain to their provider about all the spam they were receiving except that the provider probably wouldn’t have seen it the same way. 

"What do you mean I need a top-up?" Image credit: wordpress.com
“What do you mean I need a top-up?”
Image credit: wordpress.com

So I understand the annoyance that some pre-paid customers feel when they receive these types of notifications, but none that inform them that their balances are low (or non-existent) and that it might be a good idea to put some money on their phones.

Instead, when you attempt to make a call you are greeted by a recorded voice that (very disapprovingly) asks you just what you think you’re up to – because you know you don’t have enough credit to make that call.

Or worse yet, you’re cut off in the middle of your call because your funds ran out and you have to pretend (when the person calls you back) that for some reason you can’t understand, the call just dropped out. But because the provider’s service can tend to be a bit dodgy, everybody nods their heads knowingly when you blame it on them.

After which, you hustle quickly to get a top up – because they just told you that you really need to put some money on your phone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now it's your turn

