Easy Come, Easy Go

Some women struggle with infertility issues, while others just have to look at a man to get pregnant. That last bit was a little crass, I know, but that might explain why some people are so careless with their kids.

Or maybe it’s a new parenting style, where you stand off and see how the kid manages on her own, because she’s eventually going to have to care of herself anyway. And you won’t always be there.

We live free and easy here, but others have told me stories about narrowly missing a child who nonchalantly wanders out into the street with the parent nowhere in sight. There’s a particular stretch of road that I used to travel every afternoon. The area isn’t very populated but it can be a busy thoroughfare at times.

Image credit: Madagascar-library.com
Image credit: Madagascar-library.com

It was here that my husband once had to swerve to avoid hitting a child who ran across the road to get to the other side.

I don’t know what so attracted his attention over there that he obviously forgot what his mother must have told him about looking both ways before he crossed the road; but the child looked to be at that age when you have to say the same thing multiple times – and he still doesn’t hear you.

The rearview mirror didn’t show that any adult had seen the near-miss, but how much do you want to bet that if that child had been struck, the person “in charge” would magically appear. And that person (while struggling to hold back tears), would be the first to say that the car had been going exceedingly fast.

A fact which he or she would have been able to verify from his or her perch in front of the TV.

Very recently, I saw a mother who was busy talking on her cell phone, as her child, no more than three years old, walked ahead of her. I imagine she thought that since the child was in her line of sight that he was out of danger. But what if the child took one too many steps to the right? She wouldn’t have been close enough to grab him in time.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes when I’m on my phone, I have to actually stop walking so that I can hear better. And if the story that I’m listening to is particularly engaging, and I’m forming from the words, a picture in my head, I don’t even see what’s happening in front of me anymore.

Good thing I didn’t do that when my mother-in-law was looking. This is a woman who used to have no problem stopping her vehicle to upbraid a person who she thought was committing reckless endangerment.

To which the guilty adult would respond by turning around and chastising the child, because really – he should know better.

 

3 thoughts on “Easy Come, Easy Go

  1. We very much have a problem with this here in Barrow too, the worst is when I go outside at 11pm to look at the sky and I see children as young as my son (some younger even) unattended running down the road to the store to buy junk food! They’re way too small at that age for a car to even see them coming let alone stop. I’ll never understand how the kids are allowed to go out like that, I can barely let my son out of my sight for more than 5 minutes!

    1. So I take it there haven’t been any accidents then? I guess the precautions can wait until something bad happens.
      I’m amazed at how many similarities there are between where you are and where I am.

      1. There have been many, luckily, none since I have been here, a family lost their youngest daughter right before we moved though. Very young girl, it tore the community apart for a bit, there are only 4,000 of us, so it hits everyone, but time fades the memories and the carelessness returns.
        Its amazing how places so far apart can be so alike…

Now it's your turn

